Frank and the Lookout Alliance team answer your most pressing questions about health insurance. Looking for more answers? Contact us today with your question.
QUESTION: Do I need to have qualified health insurance for the entire year to avoid the Obamacare tax penalty?
ANSWER: No, you only need 9 Months of coverage, so if your health is good you can get short term coverage for Oct-Dec. and save significantly.
QUESTION: Why should you leave your prescription drug card in your wallet when purchasing 97% of your maintenance medications?
ANSWER: Because the cost is higher if you use your RX benefit from your insurance Company compared to using cash. If you have a $10 to $20 co-pay for a generic RX, those same medications are available for $4 if you pay cash!
QUESTION: Why you should always have a copy of your current prescription?
ANSWER:For at least two reasons: 1) you should have control and 2) be able to shop for the best prices in your area, the US and Canada.
QUESTION: Why should you engage dedicated, licensed health insurance professionals?
ANSWER: They have local knowledge and expertise concerning insurance designs and networks for ALL available planscompared to national, government or insurance company call centers which have limited and narrow knowledge and little or mostly NO customer service.
QUESTION: What does short term health insurance really mean?
ANSWER: Term health insurance commonly known as short term health insurance, can be purchased in most States for up to 364 days, just shy of 12 Months of coverage, which is the same as all other plans being offered under Obamacare, including employer group plans. Each anniversary, every year, individuals and families, must reapply for a new plan during open enrollment for a new effective date, January 1. Employees, as well, are offered a new plan each year at their particular anniversary date. So really short term health insurance is really not short. The Affordable Care Act allows purchasing of short term health plans with up to 364 days of coverage. While some States, like Nevada, through legislative error, mandated only 6 Months could be purchased at one time. But most States, including Arizona, Georgia, California, and Florida allow up to 12 Months.